MEAT LOAF -BRAVER THAN WE ARE review

What a record!! Time to review, but I love it, all 10 tracks, each has been carved with passion – it is so so good that Meat & Jimmy reunited to make this happen.

1. WHO NEEDS THE YOUNG?
People won’t get it but this is the first song Steinman ever wrote and a vital part of his body of work. Funny and rude, I was wondering how this would work on a record but the arrangement is typical bombastic.

2. GOING ALL THE WAY IS JUST THE START (A Song in 6 Movements)
One of my two favourite songs on the album. Back to the mini-epic songs which made Meat & Jim famous, as good if not better than Anything For Love, and no, the edits do not do the track justice. When Karla swoops in with her first line (seriously that’show I invision it) it’s just breathtaking. This song is a journey, my favouritwe bit is Ellen’s ‘You see me smile and and you swear that I can walk on air’

3. SPEAKING IN TONGUES
Was unsure fo this because of the 2006 live recording but this is a very good song. The wood joke is naughty but so Steinman. Like it

4. LOVING YOU’S A DIRTY JOB (BUT SOMEBODY’S GOTTA DO IT)
Oh. My God. When I first saw this on the tracklist i was surprised (similarly I never expected Meat to do It’s All Coming Back To Me Now) but I CANNOT STOP LISTENING TO THIS TRACK. Help. No Seriously. So different to Bonnie’s and this should be the next single. Breathtaking. Also I should mention this contains some beautiful lyrical phrases.

5. SOUVENIRS
Left in the Dark only better, a tortured ballad

6. ONLY WHEN I FEEL
The funny thing about the opening of this is I listened to the 05 live recordign so much I can hear Meat say ‘By Jim Steinman from Bat Out of Hell III’. Just 2 minutes long Meat plays this with such a tortured vocal.

7. MORE
Leading out of OWIF, this is a great song, dunno what to say about it?

8. GODZ
Catchy.

9. SKULL OF YOUR COUNTRY
This is odd, instead of ‘Turn Around’ they should have used Let the Revels Begin. Unless Sonnenberg has it tied up in the musical idk. I enjoyed it but cannou hear ‘Turn Around’ without ‘Every now and then’ !!

10. TRAIN OF LOVE
A good-old fashioned rocker to close out. Lots of fun.

I was disappointed by Bat III and thought Jim & Meat would never reunite but here the Dream Team are again. I love this album, this is a masterpiece hands down.

Meat says it’s unlike anything before but I slightly disagree in a positive way, at long last we are back at the old school of 77 and 92 and it feels so good. I have a copy in my car already to listen to on the road as well as iTunes.

One thought on “MEAT LOAF -BRAVER THAN WE ARE review”

Leave a Reply

